RSS

Video Games Live

17 Dec

Hold on to your seats because this is going to be one image heavy post! Please click the images to check them in their real size!

I can’t believe that almost two weeks went by already since the most wonderful concert of my humble life. Call me a geek, I’m proud of it really, but this was undoubtedly just the best concert I have ever been to. Which concerto you ask? Video Games Live!!!

It all happened on the past Saturday the 6th on a place called Campo Pequeno…

img_93953

When we arrived, you could practically feel the magic in the air! The weather was really cold but our hearts were deeply warm!

img_9407

Video Games Live is created and produced by industry veterans and world famous video game composers Tommy Tallarico and Jack Wall. This concert is what you can call a celebration both for the eyes and ears and yep, it’s all about videogames! For two hours you get to listen some of the most emblematic musics that were ever created and feel yourself being swept away into distant realities and memories. With this already in our minds, we sat and awaited for the beginning of the show.  And then…

img_9439

IT BEGAN!!! XD

Oh the happiness, I could hardly believe what I was hearing and seeing! I only pealed my eyes away to check if the camera was recording properly! I must say… I don’t think I’ll post any of the videos since I was too restless and in every single one of them you can hear me squealing like an excited little fox… “orz

yaanNo need for words, heh. Oh, happy memory! And in such great company too! Tiago and D-chan!

There were lots of wonderful moments in the show and really, I would be happy to bother everybody with tons of pics but I decided otherwise ahah. But nothing beats the little skit going on while the orchestra played Metal Gear Solid!

metalgear01

Right in the middle of the theme, the legendary box where Snake his hidden comes sliding by with this guy coming right after him XD! We were all wondering what the hell was on his back and soon enough we found out because the box moved and this guy saw it…

metalgear02

It was as exclamation mark!!! We were laughing like mad! The guy just ran through the audience so fast, it was hard to catch him decently! Mr. Wall’s reaction was just too cute <3  But we were in for a lot more treats…

img_9435

None other than Martin Leung, young legend of playing blindfolded, executed with extreme perfection the theme from Final Fantasy and Super Mario. All I could do was drool… and want to kidnap him *sigh* Such talent… Afterwards and how weird of me not to talk much about it, we heard the Zelda theme… ah… I want to post the video but again, I couldn’t keep shut! TT_TT I need to be gagged next time *grumble*

img_9449And while on the break, what is a technitian to do but play psp?  How proper!

There was a short break where I had the chance to see loads of friends that were at the concert also like Tanuki-san xD. We were all so damned excited ahah. We just couldn’t wait for the second part.  We had some crazy contests in the first part but I never imagined we were going to have a live Guitar Hero competition next!And none other than Mr. Tallarico came to play (for real) on his own guitar while the contestant tried his best on expert mode +_+! Alas, he failed… but he still got the prize! Lucky guy!

img_9479

We hear lots of wonderful themes… Metroid, Beyond Good and Evil, Halo, World of Warcraft… but good things must come to an end and suddenly the orchestra was playing the last song… TT_TT or were they? Mr. Tallarico still had one final surprise for us and suddenly, as he asked for all of us to show how much we wanted an encore, the stars fell inside the hall!

img_9482

We were all pointing our camera screens, cellphone’s, ds’s, psp’s to the stage; some guy even had a lighter! XD (A lighter in a video games concert? Man, you were sooo out of place) It was thousands and thousands of little bright stars each holding one will alone: ONE MORE SONG!!!

kitsune_lightsPlease, please! One more! Just one more!

And you know what? We got our wish! The mood changed, the lights grew dim, the choir sang beautifully and the guitar screamed along with them… One Winged Angel!!!!

img_9490

Now here’s the funny thing I don’t know how many are aware… Square Enix was a little mean and didn’t allow the usage of any image from their games. This was a bit unsettling when the orchestra played the Kingdom Hearts theme and all we could see were old Disney images. The same thing happened in this FF VII theme buuuttt… they found a way to show imagens of Sephiroth and not break the law by… showing images of Fanart!!! XD Ahahaha! And like they said in the end… “FANART FTW!”  The first one was even from Michelle!!!

I could sense already that I wouldn’t be able to speak on the next day. I shouted so much. So very much.

img_9498

But now it was truly over. The stars of the event came to bow and receive the thunderous ovation they deserved. I could feel a certain whistful pain in my gut knowing that although this was a unique event… I would never see it again.

Or would I?

img_9502

No, Mr. Tallarico and Mr. Hall gave hope to everybody in the arena! Next year, Video Games Live would be back!!!

Everyone cheered, clapped as hard as they could and even as we moved away, we all held big grins and a child like grin in our faces. Truthfully, dreams had come true in that evening and somehow the world seemed a wonderful place to live in. I certainly felt it was an amazing thing to be alive, to create and see and hear other people’s wonderful creations that touch so many. And I can’t wait to feel this again!

See you next year!!!!

And on the next day I was delirious with fever from the rain I caught outside. Oh well, a small price to pay. “orz

 
11 Comments

Posted by on December 17, 2008 in Events, Friends, life, Love, Music, Random Madness

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “Video Games Live

  1. D-chan

    December 18, 2008 at 12:53 PM

    The memories from that are really nice, a really great homage. My only regret is that it’ll take a while before i get to see it again!

     
  2. Gi

    December 18, 2008 at 1:38 PM

    Same… I really hope they return next year ;;

     
  3. yuugi

    December 18, 2008 at 4:49 PM

    Oh i actually thought they would always bring the stars i wanted to hear: Nobuo Uematsu, Akira Yamaoka, etc.

    Not that i wouldn’t go nuts happy to see this version, but at least two of my friends saw the version with the really big stars(and got their autographs).
    Gahhh~ so lucky!

     
  4. Gi

    December 18, 2008 at 9:41 PM

    Ah no, that’s a different show o-o! Argh can’t recall the name… I’d go berserk to see Uematsu playing live ohoho and I totally understood what you were saying, don’t worry! Honestly if you ever get the chance, watch it. For real.

     
  5. teambep

    December 18, 2008 at 10:24 PM

    omfg i wanted to go to that!! BUT IT WAS IMPOSSIBLE FOR ME TO GO D’8 GOD NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOoooooooooooo~ i can see it was FREAKING AMAZING as I was expecting.. right? T_T

     
  6. Gi

    December 18, 2008 at 10:38 PM

    Poke-chaaan!!! Yeah it was really friggin’ awesome but next year they are coming back so you get another chance!! ;_; *hug*

     
  7. Angela

    December 19, 2008 at 2:48 AM

    I’ve always wanted to go to a VGL concert! =(

     
  8. Gi

    December 19, 2008 at 8:41 AM

    Hi Angela! Thanks for the visit!

    They are still on tour, I’m sure you’ll get a chance some time! ^o^

     
  9. teambep

    December 19, 2008 at 5:01 PM

    HOLY SHIT I WILL GO ON NEXT YEAR!! YESH *w*

     
  10. Gi

    December 22, 2008 at 9:01 AM

    Check out their site, you can even request songs XD

     
  11. Joao

    September 1, 2009 at 9:58 AM

    Video Games Live is back in Portugal (Campo Pequeno-Lisbon) next 27 November 2009! Tickets on sale now http://www.ticketline.pt

     

Leave a Reply

 
