RSS

FIBDA 2008 – THE EVENT!

10 Nov

Heheheh,  finally the awesomeness and the greatness of yet another…

logo.gifDon’t worry we are still very humble and would never try to sound so conceited! But it’s hard to believe that another FIBDA went by and once again we were there represented by dear Gi.

s5002600

Hey guys, Gi here!

The festival’s theme this year was science fiction <3, the building was nicely adorned as usual ehehe. It took me about 40 bloody minutes to get there because I was stubborn and didn’t want to get on a taxi. Well, I’m proud of myself, I didn’t get lost!

s5002603

When I got inside, the first thing I noticed was how much I need a new camera… “orz. Oh well maybe soon. The interior was so nice! It really had a spaceship feeling!

s5002642_b

I kept expecting automatic doors to open and close all the time XD. Just like last year, this was the area with the works presented for the festival’s contest. Pokechan won 3rd place in her category again! You go girl!

In the meanwhile me and the receptionist (who was a very, very nice young lady) were having a little trouble making ourselves clear so I was getting ready to call Mr. Pig for help >_<“

s5002642_a1

But lo! No need, my name was on the list (phew) and I received my complimentary goody bag and my name tag! I felt really proud wearing this XD, though at the same time I feel so small! I still need to learn a lot more before I feel comfortable with these sort of things.

s5002634

After the conference with Mr. Pig, time flew by fast and we needed to head for the autograph tables. This year we had these sorts of booths…it was really nice, though a little tight. I kept bumping into Osvaldo >_<… such honour though, he is a great artist. I can’t believe I’ve been lucky enough to colour his work.

s5002642

Here he is in action. We hardly spoke but I caught bits of his conversations with the fans and it moved me when he said “All my life I’ve been drawing. I was born with this will to draw.” That’s exactly how me and Sara feel.

I am sad to say I was too shy to accept the offer of a nice gentleman to take a picture of me, so I have no pictures of me in action but it was amazing. I was so happy to see old faces and new ones there asking for a drawing and I hardly believed people were being crazy enough to trust me with their original designs to murder o_o”. I know some artists are against this but I absolutely don’t mind drawing whatever people ask me and original characters is no biggie… as long as you don’t take credit for the drawing itself or maybe you can as long as I don’t find out ahaha! … orz.

I sat at 17.00 and by the time I checked my clock again… it was almost 21.00… oops? Thankfully Ricardo from Waribashi pulled me out or I guess I’d still be there drawing. (and gladly ehehe, it was fun!). We mainly talked about producing a new Go Go, which was also one of the things people asked me more about. But for now we’re going to keep any project under wraps. We don’t want to build people’s hopes up and then present nothing. It’s better to work on something and then, right before publishing it, explode with all the necessary advertising ^_^. But who knows what’s coming up, hm? Please be patient! ♥

Last but not least, my company had a small expo at the festival too!

bio_logos5002626

Gah I was lucky that people we’re nice to step out of the way for me to take these >_<

s5002629

The place was nicely decorated, filled with concepts from the game the Wii team is preparing, and even a small demo running on the screen. It’s so weird to suddenly see an expo with the things I live with everyday. I saw when these drawings were created and given life and it makes me so happy for everybody I work with! Congrats guys, keep working the best you can!!!

I only wished I’d have more time to explore the festival but… I was so busy all the time. I hardly saw the exhibitions but my lucky star guided me to one room where I found a small expo on the Venham +5 Project!

s5002646

And there, among so many great artists, and mortally blinded by my stupid camera’s flash, was Sara’s character from the story she created for the book and we shapped in 8 meager pages. It stood as a memento of our hard work and the belief we need to keep going, always forward!

Again, a wonderful experience and our deepest thanks to Mr. Pig for opening the event’s door to us.

See ya next year, FIBDA!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 10, 2008 in art, Events, Friends, Kingpin, life, STK spot, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “FIBDA 2008 – THE EVENT!

  1. pokemew

    November 11, 2008 at 3:47 PM

    YEY xD FIBDA was a lot of fun!! :D

    and I was so happy to see you again <3 ohhhhh, even better, your drawing *_* omg really, i’ll have it with me everytime in school, so that i can look at it in classes and feel happy 8D i LOVE it!!!!! thank you again T.T

    “Pokechan won 3rd place in her category again! You go girl!” thank you!!! <3

    hope to see you soon D:

     
  2. Gi

    November 11, 2008 at 4:02 PM

    TT_TT I’m so glad you liked it, really I am. Those characters are so cute ahahaha…hah… I’m glad the drawing is innocent
    xD

    *hugs* I wonder when now >w< but I hope we’ll see each other soon too!!!

     
  3. maquie

    November 16, 2008 at 9:43 PM

    Yes it was a great time ^^ o meu inglês é um bocadito mau!! lol
    nós encontramos-nos lá para um autógrafo :D eu e mais umas amigas, somos o tal grupo que tb tem um blog de manga, embora não o atualizemos mtas vezes… vamos pondo algumas coisitas –» http://luminusbox.blogspot.com/ fica aki o link :) tb queria por o vosso banner no nosso blog… mas inda nao sei bem como :P o nosso está no final da página :) até breve

     
  4. Gi

    November 17, 2008 at 9:39 AM

    Olá para vocês todas, desde já! Não se assustem com o inglês, podem comentar à vontade em portuguÊs ^___^! Já começava a perguntar-me aonde é que andariam! Assim que possível, vou colocar o vosso link, ok? E obrigada por terem colocado o nosso <3

    Até breve!!!

     
  5. DK

    November 21, 2008 at 5:37 PM

    Keria tanto ter ido T.T
    Ainda bem k foram e tudo correu bem e se tenham divertido!!!

     
  6. Gi

    November 21, 2008 at 8:33 PM

    Só fui eu, Dk ;_; A Sara não pode ;_; *hugggs* Fui fun mas wow, overwhelming XD BEIJOSSSS!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
