RSS

Marie Antoinette: Colouring.

11 Sep

Remember this little Marie Antoinette? Poor dear, this is how she’ll look for a long long time XD “The costumer is always right” is a saying we respect at STK, as long as it stays between reasonable limits. Instead of wanting a drawing with a true Ryoko Ikeda’s feeling I was asked to redo a famous pose of Madame Pompadour and adapt it to its manga equivalent. The result? Check it out ↓

s5001441s.jpg

Starting the first wash…

s5001443s.jpg

Primary colours all done! Well, almost…

s5001450s.jpg

Working on the first shadows and background…

s5001452s.jpg

Going for the dress… (yikes!)

s5001455s.jpg

And the finished work! I swear, I’m one of the slowest artists in the world. I started this after lunch and when I finished it was night already (hence the change of lighting on this last pic…)

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 11, 2007 in Anime, art, Manga

 

4 responses to “Marie Antoinette: Colouring.

  1. yuugi

    September 12, 2007 at 5:13 AM

    Wooow holy crap! I’ve always loved your wateroloring. Look at that dress! It really looks like silk.
    I can’t believe you only use Copic for the skin *_*
    *sends you all her work for you to color* No? T3T SNIFFF!

     
  2. Gi

    September 12, 2007 at 10:33 AM

    Actually I was a cheapskate and didn’t use copics on this one X3
    Hmm… you can’t afford me colouring your works *evil laugh*
    Thanks for making me smile, Yuugi!

     
  3. otakuscribe

    September 12, 2007 at 3:42 PM

    Even if the customer has their own agenda, it’s a shame that they didn’t like your original picture as much, she was incredibly cute ^o^ Although I can see why they liked this pose as it’s very aristocratic, even if it’s not quite as playful as Marie Antoinette was known to be XD
    I adore all the colouring on her dress, and the details across the hem, and I wouldn’t say that an afternoon to colour this was especially slow, but I’m sure it depends on the value of the commission ^^;;

     
  4. Gi

    September 12, 2007 at 3:52 PM

    Wow thanks once again ^___^! I believe there was a wanting for an anime/manga feel but not necessarily in Ryoko Ikeda’s style, only on the first try outs the costumer didn’t know how to express this. I’m keeping the old Marie, one day I might colour it, at least digitally =)
    Thank you for the visit, come back anytime ^_^!

     

Leave a Reply

 
