RSS

Creating Characters – That problematic phase…

13 Jul

It happens from time to time, sometimes with more frequency that one can stand. I love character creation, be it for myself or for others – between reasonable limits that is – and recently there was an idea playing in both my mind and Sara’s. We wanted to create a real bad ass pair of “brothers” for a certain project that shall remain unnamed. The story itself is not cheerful nor fantasy flavored so I really wanted to give my guy a hard look, since Sara was aiming for a more congenial sort of man. I sketched, even colored the results and… I yelped. What an ugly thing.

FAIL “OTL

Yes, unfortunately, I am not the sort of person that gets her ideas right on target on the first try, oooh far, far from it. I could give all sorts of excuses here but I admit, I utterly failed. So what to do when this happens? For starters, you should ask yourself where did it go wrong. On my case, besides my laziness, I skipped researching. Research is very important, even if you are only trying to construct the sketch of a face. So what did I do? I went and look at some mobster’s mugs. XD

 

 

And hallelujah, redemption! Now I’m not saying this is final, it’s just a sketch after all and I haven’t really sorted out his clothing style, but I believe one can say just by glancing at this guy that he is one bad apple! Intention, research and afterwards no more character blues! X3 I almost sound important, heh. Go try it out!

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2007 in art, Concept, Manga, Random Madness

 

8 responses to “Creating Characters – That problematic phase…

  1. yuugi

    July 13, 2007 at 6:11 AM

    He looks really good, especially his nose. *wants to draw good looking noses also >(*

     
  2. Gi

    July 13, 2007 at 6:16 AM

    You flatterer *blush* His nostrils are a little too big for me though… and he looks Egyptian XD

     
  3. pokemew

    July 13, 2007 at 8:46 AM

    he looks… sexy… x3

    do i smell wolverine personality? c8 i hope so… badass guy personality is the smex oWo

     
  4. Gi

    July 13, 2007 at 9:04 AM

    Oh, Pokechan you got good taste ;) Wolverine? Hm.. more of a German Shepard xD Protective above all ^^

     
  5. pokemew

    July 13, 2007 at 9:48 AM

    ahahh i was talkin about wolverine/logan from x-men xD; ahahahh bad ass but protective… i love Wolverine 8D but i don’t like when they do an old wolverine.. he looks ugly, i prefer how i draw him: young looking smexy canadian(he’s canadian, right? o.o) bad-ass guy.. xD lol ok, i’m strange today

     
  6. Gi

    July 13, 2007 at 9:53 AM

    Oops, didn’t made myself clear, I know Wolverine, though I like Ganbit more… _

     
  7. pokemew

    July 13, 2007 at 10:03 AM

    ahahhh the guy who likes to “play cards” and “play with the ladies” xD he’s cool! oh, and i meant “i’m acting strange”… oh, and yesterday I was hyperactive, as you saw -A-; Gomen!

     
  8. Gi

    July 13, 2007 at 10:13 AM

    Oh no it ate my comment!! I said a lot more stuff `0´ *mad* Pokechan is cute when she’s hyper so it’s ok! XD And I want to see one of your wolverines!

     

Leave a Reply

 
